Tags

, , , ,

Thank you for your comments regarding the challenge and a huge apology for not being on here for months..

Hello… Happy New Year 🙂 Life has been a little hectic over the past few months and swallowed me up a little. Although I dislike the celebration of New Year I love the fresh start it brings.. the new focus you can have with the turn of another passing year.

And a fresh start I do need!!! I have noticed recently that I have lost a little of my sparkle, lost that excitement for life a little, in the words of my husband, “I have become a little too serious!!” Well with a new year comes a fresh start and I have realised that what helps me to have fun and put a smile on my face is my vintage hunting, creating new and exciting outfits out of very little from charity shops but more importantly, being creative. Now don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with being serious and that is part of who I am, earnest Em is my nick name thanks to my lovely mother :-)But  I do know that I want to enjoy the life I have been given, embrace hobbies and embrace who I am. I have found that recently I have been a little overwhelmed by what everyone else is doing, started comparing myself and what I do to others.. Well that stops now, I am who I am, I believe God has created me just the way I am and I have to start living and embracing that fully. We are all created differently, life would be boring if we were all the same!!

So a little update on my challenge.. I have done well, I haven’t brought a huge amount, I will pop some of my finds in a later post however I do have two confessions to make. One Cath Kidston got the better of me and I succumbed to a beautiful mushroom skirt for my Christmas Day outfit.. I know I am very very naughty!!! I blame my sister for not stopping me.. hehe.. incidentally she forgot about my challenge on that particular shopping trip.. love you pook 🙂 My second slip up was a little of a necessity; we were on our way to a wedding late December in London and my shoes broke ( a lovely pair of loafers from a charity shop!) so I had to dash into Next and buy a pair to keep me going for the rest of the day!! That one I don’t think you will mind.

So anyway I will draw to a close now. I am excited for what this year has ahead and I am determined to get back some of the things I have lost, really get back to my creative side and enjoy it rather than seeing it as something “to do” on the tick list. Does anyone else ever feel like that? This year I am going to get rid of some of the less important things in my life; like always looking at Facebook on my phone, comparing myself to others, thinking of the things I “should” be doing and constantly thinking that the house has to look perfect.. A little bit of dust you know never hurt anyone.. There are more important things in life 🙂  So happy new year and may you enjoy creativeness, craftiness and all the other lovely things you have in your life.. Enjoy them to their fullest.

Until next time and hope you haven’t minded my honesty,

Love, Olive & Em

xxxx

