Tags

, , ,

Just a little post today to show you what our recent Make Group got up to. We decided to attempt decoupage, a skill I have been longing to try out since I first received my copy of Kirstie’s Homemade Home for a present. It is actually very simple. After a bit of advice from friends I discovered we needed half PVA glue and half water. You can use pretty much any materials, our favourites tended to be material and tissue paper. We also gave wrapping paper a go and it worked pretty well. The thinner materials the better, there is of course the usual decoupage paper however this can be a tad expensive so experiment. Simply place whatever you have chosen to use with glue/water and stick it on..  

You can decoupage pretty much anything really, we went for jars as this seemed simplest, others ventured onto left over beer bottles later in the evening, these would look fab on a dinner table with tall candles. 

So I loved how each jar reflected the individual. Below are a few pics of mine. I used scraps of material I had and some ripped up Cath Kidston paper. I was really pleased with both. I have made a few more since but am giving these as pressies so can’t pop them on here in case the recipients see them 🙂 Anyway, give it a go and let me know what you make. 

CIMG2341

 

And a little close up on them…

CIMG2343

 

CIMG2344

 

It’s so simple, yet really effective. With Cath paper, it’s double sided too so looks great from the inside as well. All I did was pop a candle in and you are good to go 🙂 

CIMG2345

 

Happy making and vintage hunting lovely people. 

Olive & Emxxxxx

