Tags

, ,

Last Saturday I spent a lovely day doing something that I love.. Ethical shopping. Well hosting an ethical shopping event, A Swap Shop. I have a bit of an obsession with trying to find unique ways to shop ethically. My charity shop challenge, car boot bargains but a swap shop has to be one of the best ways to get girls together and share items of clothing that you no longer wear for a friends clothes which were heading for a clear out.

We had lots of little extras, cakes from The Chocolate Cake Cottage, decorations by Olive & Em crockery ( see crockery hire page above) and the lovely Gemma Tulson provided a little repairs corner with her nifty sewing skills for a small fee. We entertained all the ladies who came with fab music from Hannah and Adam Smikle.

All the money the we made went to two great organisations Beauty Cocoon run by one of my best friends, the lovely Jennie Frost. The other is In Your Own Skin created by the fabulous Hannah Smikle. Both organisations have been established to develop positive self esteem amongst young women and female adults. They encourage conversations in safe places for women to talk about their emotions and feelings, focusing upon personal value and worth.  Both courses are simply fantastic and deal with issues so close to my heart.

An image which will stay with me of the day, has to be when I declared, “The Swap Shop is Open,” eyes turned and determined, brisk walking commenced towards the clothing area. It made me giggle, us ladies just love clothes 🙂 I took a step back, watching people’s eyes scan another ladies arm full of clothes, watching as others picked things up and put things down again, ready to nab. It was all good fun and a great time to just chill, chat and eat cake as well as get a couple of new items of clothes. If you would like any details about how to run a swap shop, please just pop me an email. I am sure you are all dab hands at it. Let me know if you’re organising one. I would love to pop down.

I managed to nab myself some brand new, never worn Next white linen trousers and a white and blue stripey top for work.

So here are a few pics of the day, sorry there aren’t too many I was running around like a crazy lady. Next time I will be sure to take more. I hope to make this a 6 monthly event raising money for different causes each time, so watch this space 🙂

Having a nosey and a rummage…

Cakes provided by the fabulous Helena at The Chocolate Cake Cottage..yum yum yum…

As you can see flowers and all things girlie and beautiful were the order of the day so we just had to use the gorgeous Olive & Em crockery to decorate the church hall and had LOTS of bunting out of course. 

Happy Ethical shopping 🙂

Lots of love,

Olive & Emxxxxx

