Tags

I don’t often do philosophical posts however recently I have been in that philosophical, yet happy mood. Lots of really lovely things have been going on in the last few weeks and I have really realised how very blessed that I am, how lucky and grateful I am for so many things in my little life. Now I don’t want to be all puke making on you but you know what sometimes we do need a little inspiration.

We so easily get bogged down in us, in our own little worlds and what’s going on in our lives that we forget to be thankful for what we have and the great people we are surrounded by. I am the first to admit that I can quite easily freak out and over dramatise things but just recently I have really tried to stay calm when things get a little crazy. To step back from the madness and keep as much perspective as possible.

So what is this post about.. it’s actually to share with you a few ways and techniques that I use to pull my sometimes self-absorbed mind out of me to help me think about others around me and take that well needed step back from my little dramas.  I’ve started to try to do an Act of Kindness everyday. That can be anything from holding the door open for people in a shop, having a chat with the checkout assistant ( shopping is not all I do by the way 🙂 ). Maybe its popping over to a friends who you know needs a chat with some flowers or a cake. Maybe it’s sending a little text message to encourage someone. All these things help to open our eyes, pull us out of our own little worlds.

So for a little inspiration I thought I would promote and share with you some of my lovely friends who have businesses which may help you with your little Acts of Kindness.

First there is the gorgeous Helena at The Chocolate Cake Cottage. Maybe you want to treat a friend to these gorgeous cupcakes….

We had them at the Olive & Em tea party, they are amazing 🙂 £10 for a box of six is such good value 🙂

Then there is my sister-in-law Susie of Susie Sweetpea. She makes the most beautiful cards which you could send to say to hello to a friend you haven’t spoken to for a while. All the pictures on the link above have been made into cards.

The flowers you see above are made of sugar, she makes them herself, how beautiful are they? She taught herself via a Sugarcraft class. She is so so talented. She also makes gorgeous cakes so if you are up in Cumbria, check her out. Cards are available to post across the UK.

Please do fill me in on your acts of kindness for others and how they go down with people. Hopefully we can add lots of smiles to people’s weeks this week 🙂 

Lots of love and happy vintage hunting.

Olive & Emxxxxx

